suc·cess [suhk-ses]

noun

1.

the favorable or prosperous termination of attempts or endeavors.
2.

the attainment of wealth, position, honors, or the like.
These are the definitions I found at dictionary.com one of my favorite sites on the web (yeah, I’m a nerd). The dictionary is a great tool used to help look up the definitions of words we don’t know or don’t know the meaning of. I for one, actually enjoy looking up definitions of rarely used words as it’s just a way of expanding my knowledge. However, in a case like success, it’s a word we all are familiar with and have heard many times. I actually do feel this is a good thing as it gives the public something to aspire to. However, over the past few years, I’ve noticed many of the successful people I know, don’t fit any of these definitions. They’re not wealthy, at least monetarily, they aren’t leaders in some fortune 500 company, they aren’t even after some title or award. They’re small business owners, community focused and their recognition came through them helping the community. Their definition of wealth is very different. While it can and does include money, it’s not the main focus. They’re fueled by things like passion and great communication. It really made me ask the question:
WHAT IS SUCCESS?
What I found out is that success is different for every person. There is no cookie-cutter answer for everyone simply because we all don’t want the same things. We may want similar things but while one person may want a Chrysler the other may want a Ford. It’s just natural to have individual wants. So where does this leave success? Up to you. YOU must define success for YOURSELF! You have to define what it is that you want. What does success look like for you? In this case, we are focused on the “what” of success. The goal or end-result that you’re looking for. So try asking yourself some questions. Here are a sample of some you can ask based on  the theme of “what”:
1. What do I currently love to do?
2. What could I see myself doing for the rest of my life?
3. What does my day look and feel like?
Get as specific as possible when answering a question. This will help you define your definition of success. Next time we’ll take a look at the “why” of success.
Does your definition of success differ from the stock definition? How has it worked in your life?
