pas·sion   [pash-uhn]

noun

1. any powerful or compelling emotion or feeling, as love or hate.
2. strong amorous feeling or desire; love; ardor.

3. a strong or extravagant fondness, enthusiasm, or desire for anything: a passion for music.
4. the object of such a fondness or desire: Accuracy became a passion with him.

5. an outburst of strong emotion or feeling: He suddenly broke into a passion of bitter words.
“A person can succeed at almost anything for which they have unlimited enthusiasm.” ~ Charles Schwab
Unlimited enthusiasm! That stands out strongly for me. I look at some of the most successful people in their respective professions and they have an endless love for what they do. There are so many people I know who wouldn’t trade what they do now for someone else. Whether they are musicians, small business owners or young business professionals, their love for their work keeps them going daily.
Passions are the things that we could do even if we lost everything. For me, you couldn’t take away my passion for music and culture as those are extremely important to me, even when I’m deep in a financial hole. I put that out there because while money is important to being able to live it’s not the definitive to what you like and love (unless you’re that guy/gal who loves money and yes, they do exist and they’re not always rich). Here’s an exercise to try for you:
Write down 3-5 things your passionate about.
This is a cool exercise that spawned off of a class I took. The passions don’t have to be what you will be in 20 years or so, although they can be, but what you would like to be doing now. So try this exercise with the following guidelines:
1) Write your passion in action words (doing, being, feeling). I am loving my significant other with all my heart.
2) What would you be doing if money wasn’t an option. Remember: Money may be an essential but it’s not the definitive. You get to decide that.
3) If you’re thoughts go negative, (ie. Getting away from ___) turn them around to the opposite (Being in a place of ____). Keep this a positive exercise. What you put out you bring about.
I would also recommend seeking out a course or exercise that helps bring out your passions. For me, that tool was a class literally called, The Passion Test. I was first exposed to it by one of my friends in the area who is a passion test facilitator and is also her business. She enjoys helping people discover their passions and live them without making money the prime focus (or fear would be the better substitute). That class helped me gain more focus in my life as I was able to see it in black and white. Once you put it where you can see it, it just means more, especially if you’re a person who has problems expressing themselves like me.
I believe that there’s nothing greater in life than to do what you love, even when money is involved. For me, it’s making that transition to doing what I don’t want to do into fitting everything in. In the end, we’re never given more than we can handle but that’s a conversation for another time.
What is something that you absolutely LOVE to do without thinking hard about? Has it kept you going even when you were down? Please discuss and leave me your comments!
